Penalty for playing out of position

13/11/15 05:43
I'm fairly new to the game but am wondering what the penalty for playing a 2 at 1 or 3 is. Is it the same as a 10 at 12 for example? What about a 10 at 15 or 1/3 at 6/7 etc? If this has been answered elsewhere I'd appreciate a link to thread.

Thanks
14/11/15 08:21
It's fine, I play a number 10 at 12
14/11/15 10:53
No penalty at all. The devs dont think that positional knowledge means anything so you can have a team foll of props with no penalty
19/11/15 17:59
There should be a penalty. When do you ever see a no. 8 playing at 15 or 11?
Just because the number of better players are of a few position numbers doesn't make it right.
Be more real game like not just about figures on any player for any position.
19/11/15 20:00
guest_1440959966322 :

Just because the number of better players are of a few position numbers doesn't make it right.

There aer penalties since 8 would have had different training such as kick recepton, lineouts and scrumming
19/11/15 20:09
guest_1440959966322 :

In 'real life' outside of props and hookers, plenty of players have played in different positions. Although even then Ben Youngs started as a centre before becoming a hooker.

Using your example, the Great Jonah Lomu played as a no.8 and winger for instance. More recently Sam Burgess played as a 7 for Bath and a centre for England. Like in 'real life' if you train the players correctly they can change position.
19/11/15 23:03
Tolgate 23/7 :

"guest_1440959966322" :

In 'real life' outside of props and hookers, plenty of players have played in different positions. Although even then Ben Youngs started as a centre before becoming a hooker.

Using your example, the Great Jonah Lomu played as a no.8 and winger for instance. More recently Sam Burgess played as a 7 for Bath and a centre for England. Like in 'real life' if you train the players correctly they can change position.

Not sure when Ben was a hooker. You got your Youngs mixed up?